9mm shotshells

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ack

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting some shot shells for my M&P 9mm for critter control around the house. I've never used shotshells before and hoped you guys could answer some questions for me.

Are they bad for my gun?

Are they powerful enough to cycle the action on my M&P 9mm properly when shot?

Are there any certain types or brands of shotshell ammo that I should look for or stay away from?

What's the effective "danger zone" behind my target when shooting shotshells? Is it safe to shoot towards a highway that's 1000 feet or more behind my target with no backstop? Or course I'd never dream of doing this with real ammo, but I'm wondering if it's safe to assume the shotshells always stop before 1000 feet.

initseven

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I recently did a little research on 9mm shotshells for reptile control. I can no longer find the link, but I found a comparison someone had done between the 9mm and the 38/357 shotshells. It came down to the 9mm having smaller shot and less of it. Because of that, the comparison questioned if the 9mm could do the job. I really didn't find anything that made me feel real good about the 9mm shotshells. I ended up going with the 38/357 shotshells. I hope that helps some.

nobuttbrian

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
i ave tried them in a m&p and they would not cycle correctly.they won't feed i guess because of the soft nose cone that holds the shot.I just went back to the 38 shot shell, however, the taurus judge does a much better job than anything else pistol wise.

Soulman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
1.no-hard plastic non maring cup
2.no-may not feed in semiautos
3.CCI-better design
4.12 foot range for best shots-patten opens up -loses engery

Agreed.