Are Kias worth a flip?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cavedweller

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
With a 14yr old, 3yr old, and one on the way, we have out grown our family grocery getter. We need a third row seat. We have been looking at 4-5 yr old Toyota Highlanders or GMC Acadia, all in the 20k range. A co-worker suggested the Kia Sorrento which I hadnt even given a thought. Looked them up and a used 2016 fully loaded is less than the other 2 models I listed. Reviews look pretty good, comparable to a Highlander but I have no real world experience. Anybody have one? Is it a lemon or a undervalued gem?

tRidiot

Perpetually dissatisfied
Special Hen
Reaction score
As far as I know, they have steadily increased in value and customer satisfaction from their humble beginnings, much like Hyundai. They are a decent mid-priced vehicle for families on a budget, not a performance car without tons of high-end amenities, but are decent vehicles. I haven't owned one, this is just what I've read over the years.

Zaphod Beeblebrox

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I drove a Kia minivan back from Pensacola last spring. Flew down, drove back, with a lunch stop in NOLA. Six people in the van. Tons of room, drove nice, plenty of power when required and mpg in the mid twenties.

In short, I was impressed.

Will it outlast a Toyota? Probably not, but it doesn't cost as much either.

soonersfan

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
There used to be a feller on here named redneck1861 who might attest to some rollover issues but apparently the storage capacity was excellent.

They have a pretty good marketing campaign.

I dont really know much about them other than that.

FredNOk

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score