Civilian training anxiety

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

98pointsix

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I really want to get some advanced type firearms training. The only problem is Im a tax accountant and honestly I feel kind of intimidated taking a law enforcement oriented class full of LEO's. My interest is more recreational than anything else it just seems like it would be alot of fun. I just dont want to look like an ass. The problem I have is the "Basic stuff" that I have been able to find is so basic all they cover is safety and operation, both of these are important but I have that covered. I want to learn more refined techniques, different types of grips, stances, shooting from different, and defensive positions. I would also like to take a carbine class I dropped all this cash on an AR I would like to hae some real fun with it, shooting it from a rest is cool and all for about the first 100 rounds or so but I could have dont that with my marlin model 60. Its kinda like only driving your Corvette in the driveway.

Im curious if there are alot of regular joes at these classes?
What kind of gear should I be looking at ? I realize Iwill need a rifle,handgun,mags,and ammo, but is there anything else that will help me look a bit less noobish. Lests face it no one likes to look like a noob even if you are one.

What Im kinda getting at is where should I start?
How do I keep from looking like an ass?
Do you think Im being to self conscious and most of the people there dont give a crap about what im doing as long as Im not pointing my weapon in thier direction?
Does anyone let you sit in on a class before having to participate so I can see if I need anything specific or if it is my level?

OK thats about it, I appreciate the look and input.

bratch

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
There are several ways to go about it.