Help with first Surplus Bolt Action

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jakerz

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been shopping around and looking for awhile, and have finally decided that I would like to purchase a surplus bolt action rifle for the pure fun of just shooting it. I've narrowed it down to these 2 rifles:

K98
M39 w/turn down bolt

I have some experience with the mosin (a buddies), but no experience with the K98. I was hoping some of y'all could help tell me the pluses and minuses of each rifle. I know the 54r surplus ammo is easier to find and cheaper than the 8mm. But that's about it.

If you could have only one of the above, which would you choose? Or would you choose something else entirely for a surplus bolt action? I would like to keep the cost of the rifle under $500.

Thanks,

Jake

flatwins

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Are you talking the Finnish M39? I'd probably go with one of those over a K98 but the Mauser would certainly be fun too. The true German K98 has become a collector's item so the prices can get up there. If you want to mess around with an inexpensive 8mm you can go the Turk route but check the gun out closely first as there are some junkers out there.

The M39 will allow you to run cheap ammo with fairly impressive accuracy.

Boehlertaught

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Are you talking the Finnish M39? I'd probably go with one of those over a K98 but the Mauser would certainly be fun too. The true German K98 has become a collector's item so the prices can get up there. If you want to mess around with an inexpensive 8mm you can go the Turk route but check the gun out closely first as there are some junkers out there.

The M39 will allow you to run cheap ammo with fairly impressive accuracy.