Knife sharpening

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crosstimbers Okie

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been using Lanskey products for about 20 years. All of my knives stay razor-sharp, which is the only way to have a knife as far as I'm concerned. With a little practice these products will get it done at reasonable cost.

For profiling a new blade or putting an edge on a dull blade:

http://www.sharpeningsupplies.com/Lansky-Standard-Diamond-System-P156.aspx

For touching up a blade or the final stages of sharpening after using the above product:

http://www.sharpeningsupplies.com/Lansky-Turn-Box-Knife-Sharpener-P105.aspx

pow

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I think I poorly articulated the last portion of my question. Obviously everyone will want it to be as sharp as possible. I was thinking more along the type of edge you are putting on the blade. A razor edge that would be good for filleting or shaving vs something a bit rougher, for cutting a piece of rope.

Rod Snell

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I think I poorly articulated the last portion of my question. Obviously everyone will want it to be as sharp as possible. I was thinking more along the type of edge you are putting on the blade. A razor edge that would be good for filleting or shaving vs something a bit rougher, for cutting a piece of rope.
The angle of the bevel to the edge is what changes for making the edge more suitable for rough work than fine cuts like shaving. On a 2-blade trapper, I keep one blade at 15 degrees for a razor-like sharpness, and the other at 30 degrees for rougher duty. When I sharpened my hatchet last week, the angle to the blade was even more to get more steel behind the edge, suitable for chopping wood, not for shaving.

Some of us just eyeball the angle after doing it for decades, but there are sharpening rigs available with adjustable angle settings.

randallss7

Sharpshooter