Laser Eye Surgery

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pstmstr

AKA Michael Cox. Back by popular demand.
Special Hen Banned
Reaction score
I’m 64, can’t see much of anything close up and slight distance correction with glasses. I also have very small cataracts starting. I’ve done a little research and have an evaluation appointment next Wed at Clearsight. My goal is to completely eliminate the need for glasses forever. Anyone had this done and would you recommend it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

tRidiot

Perpetually dissatisfied
Special Hen
Reaction score
I don't know that it's going to help your up close vision. They might be able to help your distance vision. I'm not an eye doctor though. I'd be interested to know what you find out. I always wanted to do it, but never had the money and now that I probably could, it isn't that big of a deal to me - my contacts are minimal trouble and I'm getting to the age where I'm starting to notice up-close problems and I know those will continue to get worse for years to come - and having the surgery won't stop or slow that progression down.

Reloading Rod

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
My wife had it done 30 years ago, for the past 5 or so years she has used reading glasses for reading, but other than that she has had no problems. She could see better instantly right after the surgery.

SoonerP226

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I would skip Clearsight and go talk to Dr. Kimberly Wise in Norman ( https://wiseeyeassociates.com/ ). She'll shoot you straight on it; she's the one who advised me not to get it done because the numbers didn't line up.

I'm pretty sure that the materials she and my regular ophthalmologist had me review said that most people needed reading glasses after LASIK. Of course, it has been about 20 years, so I may be misremembering this.

Mos Eisley

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score