Lurkers "2 tote survival plan".

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lurker66

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
This is gonna be a long post, bear with me and I'll share some thoughts and ideas. It's just a guide and may not fit your idea of a Prep or plan. I'm not a pro and I'm open to ideas and improvements.

Keep in mind I'm trying to just give you the basics of prepping for Oklahoma type natural disasters; Tornados, Ice Storms and wildfires. YMMV.

I'll deal with Ice Storms and power outages separately. ...

Prepping for each is kinda similar, yet each is kinda unique. Tornados and Wildfires have 1 thing in common...each can destroy your home forever, yet both are easily survivable. Surviving is the goal, rebuilding is a whole different ball game. If the weather is bad, tune in to the radio or TV. Pay attention.

Here's what I do for both. I use the big plastic totes for storage. We have 2. Inside tote #1, we keep vital important papers, extra car keys, extra cell phone chargers, and some heirloom type stuff.
Tote #2, we keep a change of clothes, blankets, some first aid stuff, and some toiletries(toothpaste, toothbrush, TP and some meds).

Our cellar always has a case or 3 of water. Tote #2 is always in cellar. The cellar also has chairs and cots, a lantern, Coleman fuel, flashlights and 2 radios...rig up your antenna so you have reception once you go into lockdown. Radios don't get reception in cellars. During Tornados, communication is a must.

So at first sign of bad weather, tote #1 goes into cellar, tote #2 is already in. From March to July, Tote #1 is also kept right beside my front door, jic, but we grab it on way to cellar. 2 totes. You're prepped for a Tornado.

For a wildfire it's almost the same. A couple of years ago the wildfire bout got me. We were told to evacuate. It was almost as simple as grabbing tote #1 and #2. I had some time so I loaded a trailer. Again it's about surviving.