mosin question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
T

TheMcs

I'm fairly new to them, but from what I've seen of people posting in a Mosin forum I'd estimate 1 in 10. Mine is a forced match (a couple strikethroughs) except for the bayonet, which doesn't match. Thinking about what these rifles have gone through, I'd think even 1 in 10 would be a pretty high estimate.

coolhandluke

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to them, but from what I've seen of people posting in a Mosin forum I'd estimate 1 in 10. Mine is a forced match (a couple strikethroughs) except for the bayonet, which doesn't match. Thinking about what these rifles have gone through, I'd think even 1 in 10 would be a pretty high estimate.

I think he means consecutive serial numbers...not fully matching serial numbered rifles. I've owned seven MN's and I know at least four of those were numbers matching rifles. 10% might be a little on the low side.

I have to admit that I've looked through quite a few crates of 91/30's and it never occurred to me to search for consecutive numbered rifles.

Lurker66

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
I think he means consecutive serial numbers...not fully matching serial numbered rifles. I've owned seven MN's and I know at least four of those were numbers matching rifles. 10% might be a little on the low side.

I have to admit that I've looked through quite a few crates of 91/30's and it never occurred to me to search for consecutive numbered rifles.

Correct, as long as they are consecutively numbered. Kinda wanted 3 shooters that match a little. Not really wanting collector type guns, just unique xmas gifts.

MoBoost

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'd say, maybe with some 1946/47 M44. Standard issue 91/30s were all issued, rearsenalled etc. With 40 million built, it would be a heck of a draw of luck there.

ronny

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score