mosin question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

urbanscout

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been looking at buying a mosin 91/30 from a co worker for $140. He will include 220 rounds of the mil surplus ammo.
Good deal?

Next...
I am new to the rifle world and have spent the last few months just shooting my marlin 60. I've wanted to buy "the next step up" and was seriosly considering a lever action or SKS or other mil surplus. NOW.... Prices have gone throught the roof and a mosin looks like one of my few options. I do have a budget, unfortunately, and I would like a good mutipurpose rifle. I don't hunt and the paper target at the range the only zombie I plan to see anytime soon.

SO. Tell me about the mosin. I see there are multiple types. Which is best or has an advantage? I've read some web pages, but would like some honest opinions and direction.

Or. should I really look at another rifle all together?

Thanks

Quick_Draw_McGraw

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
That's a good deal. Mosins are going between $90 to $120. The ammo is probably worth $40 - $50.

So worst case you are getting it at cost, best case you are saving $20 or so.

flatwins

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
If this is your first venture into rifles just go in knowing that Mosins aren't exactly "refined". They were mass produced using the finest Russian manufacturing processes and are about as utilitarian of a bolt-action as can be. Remember the stories of captured Migs using old school vacuum tubes for instrumentation and wood components in a high-tech military jet? Well, that Russian attention to quality is alive and well in the Mosin. They were a tool, nothing more and nothing less.

But these traits along with their cost and readily available ammo is what makes them a lot of fun. They can be plenty accurate for range fun or hunting.