Moving from TX, trying to learn the "major" differences in the law

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rsj11

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
New member here!
I'm moving to Tulsa for graduate school very soon. I have a valid Texas CHL (CCW) permit and am likely keeping my TX (parents) address for all official purposes.

My reasoning is,
(I found this on the TX DPS site)
FAQ "If I am a college student and attend school out of state, do I have to turn in my license to DPS or change my home address? No. If you are merely attending a university in another state, you may keep your permanent address on your concealed handgun license..."

It seems that Oklahoma will honor any VALID permit from TX, and because of the above quote, I should be good-to-go.

That being said, I'm trying to learn the major differences, primarily to respect OK law and be a responsible carrier.
I'd appreciate any responses:thanku:

So far I am seeing:
1 No caliber larger than .45 (non-issue for me)

2 I can't have loaded rifles/long guns in a vehicle?

3 Can I carry multiple (two) CCWs? (example, Glock on hip, Ruger LCP as a back up gun in pocket?)

4 In general (not just carry) Are there any mag capacity limits
What about AR high capacity mags?

5 Important: I have no intention to EVER carry on to a campus, BUT what about parking lots? From handgunlaw.us it looks like I'm allowed a concealed weapon in my car, parked on a college campus.. right???

6 In TX, only a "intentional" failure to conceal is illegal. Thus, "printing" is almost not going to cause a legal issue (although I do everything possible to prevent this).
How does OK treat accidental failure to conceal or printing?
*note I understand officer discretion would probably be the big issue, but I'm looking for the law

7 On a non-carry side of things, Are AR15s or other long guns subject to any OK laws (they are >16inch barrels)