Oil Cap USPSA Aug 9 Sunday

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buzzdraw

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Sunday August 9 will soon be here. With it comes Oil Capital USPSA. Plan on 125 rounds (seems like we always shoot more like 150+) in 6 stages, one a Classifier. Sign-in at 9:30, with walk-thru at 10 AM. Set-up commences at 7:30, as usual. Match fee is $15 ($10 to OCR&GC members).

Location link: http://www.ocrgc.org/location.htm

I’ve figured out how to create bar code stage scoring labels by shooter number, so we’ll make this match operations improvement this month. Obviously it will be important to use the proper bar code label on the correct stage; I think we can handle that!

Rayce

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm new to the competative shooting.. I think you said there is a qualifing shoot also... What should I expect at the six stages that will be shot from? I guess I could bring a 9mm semi auto pistol or a 45 acp single stack? :ugh2:

rockon71385

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm new to the competative shooting..

Welcome to the sport man! It's a blast.

I think you said there is a qualifing shoot also...

There will definitely be a qualifier stage. Most monthly USPSA matches will have 4-5 self-designed stages or stages copied from other clubs, then 1 actual USPSA classifier stage which can be any stage from this list. Once you've joined USPSA and shot four classifier stages, you'll get your initial classification.

What should I expect at the six stages that will be shot from?

Bring at least 150 rounds, 200 if you can. The stages will involve shots at varying ranges on paper silhouette targets and steel plates. There will also be some movement involved. Here's IMHNTN shooting a typical stage at OKC Gun club last month.

I guess I could bring a 9mm semi auto pistol or a 45 acp single stack? :ugh2: