Reccomend me a Mauser.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maffarazo

Marksman
Reaction score
Hello, I'm in the market for a Mauser. Turkish, German, Swedish, etc
doesn't matter to me. I have no hands on experience with Mausers
personally. I'll mostly be plinking / shooting at the range. I'm not
looking for 1" groups but I'd like it to be relatively accurate ( more
than my mosin ) And my price range is probably under 500$ can go
over if it looks awesome. I've been looking at the VZ 24 and some of
swedish ones.

Do you guys have any mausers that you would reccomend? Thanks

Perplexed

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
If $500 is your budget for a range rifle, definitely get the best Swedish M96 Mauser you can find. Fantastic accuracy compared to just about any other Mauser in that price range, and a primo example can be gotten for less than $400, easily. I'd suggest looking for a M96 that's gotten the FSR (Swedish volunteer shooter's organization) treatment so it has a rear diopter and hooded front sight set; while harder to find, those are a real pleasure to shoot and usually go for around $400 depending on which rear diopter it has. Just make sure the conversion is well-done with good bedding (if any); here's a link for more info: http://dutchman.rebooty.com/fsr.html

milsurp2.0

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Look for a VZ-24 or a K98k. They have a little more oomph and history than any other mauser except maybe a Chinese used mauser. Russian captures are fairly cheap and are a good investment as they are only going up. ANd theres nothing like having that skullcrusher work on your shoulder after a good day of shooting.

i360.photobucket.com_albums_oo46_Falconfansince80_pics1045.jpg

kd5rjz

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'd go for a VZ24, or even an M1922 if you're looking for accuracy in 8mm.

I'd go for a k98 if you're looking for an investment.