Reloading - Does the bullet really matter

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OKCHunter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I've been reloading for 20+ years and have never been concerned with substituting a bullet in a published recipe. In other words, as long as the bullet is the same caliber and weight is the same, I've substituted bullets. I know the BC, ogive, length, etc. can be different. However, if you compensate with measurements to match the recipe - no problems in my experience.

I bring this up because I've read posts on other forums where people strictly follow the recipe for every component. Anybody have an opinion?

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator Moderator
Reaction score
It's never been a concern for me. The only bullet I ever adjusted for was a Barnes bullet with non Barnes data as they run longer than most. I just reduced the load by 2gr and went from there.

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I always match the case capacity with the bullet I'm using inserted. An extreme example: 9mm round nose will have a drastically differing OAL (longer) than a FP/JHP. If someone were to load a RN to an OAL set up for a FP/JHP they'd get in trouble on the first round fired due to the bullet consuming a lot more case capacity.

In reality OAL doesn't tell you anything other than if it will fit in a magazine. Beyond that it's only a reference point that is easily measured, it really means nothing.

So to answer the OP's question. Yes, the bullet matters greatly...

Last edited:

Okie4570

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Reaction score
Is there any chance that the "yes or no" answer here might depend on whether reloading rifle vs pistol rounds? I can see where this could be a factor.

OKCHunter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score