Shotgun for sporting clays, dove, and pheasant?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WafflesX3

New to the site!
Reaction score
Hunting/sporting noob here. Did my first dove hunt and sporting clay shoot in the past year. I have a pheasant hunt coming this November. I'm looking to buy a 12-gauge that can handle all three shoots. Shopping the Internet, I'm considering the Beretta A300 or maybe the Weatherby SA-08.

Anyone got some advice?

I shot a Mossberg 500 at the dove hunt and borrowed a semi auto for the sporting clays. I've got a Mossberg 500 for HD with the 18.5" barrel. Don't want to switch the barrel out for hunting since that's my wife's HD weapon.

rickm

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Have never hunted phasant before but plenty of clays and doves and always used my Rem 870 w/36 inch full choke barrel on it and it never let me down. But it all comes down to learning what your gun can do and learn to use it accurately.

JeffT

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Benelli M2
The Benelli m2 is a great gun, I have one setup for 3 gun competition. I have a CZ 720, that is a great gun too.
The CZ is about $500-$600 and the Benelli is about $1000-1100.

Live Simply, Love Generously, Care Deeply, Speak Kindly, Shoot Well, Leave the Rest to God.

YukonGlocker

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hunting/sporting noob here. Did my first dove hunt and sporting clay shoot in the past year. I have a pheasant hunt coming this November. I'm looking to buy a 12-gauge that can handle all three shoots. Shopping the Internet, I'm considering the Beretta A300 or maybe the Weatherby SA-08.

Anyone got some advice?

I shot a Mossberg 500 at the dove hunt and borrowed a semi auto for the sporting clays. I've got a Mossberg 500 for HD with the 18.5" barrel. Don't want to switch the barrel out for hunting since that's my wife's HD weapon.
Welcome to OSA!