SKS Question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brandi

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Recently I've seen advertised on various sites, SKS's with "matching numbers" along with a corresponding premium price. I don't know enough about SKS's to know if matching numbers actually make the gun more valuable, does it matter?

What, in addition to or other than (depending on the answer to the above question) would set an SKS apart from all the others and justify the higher prices?

I should have bought one years ago when they were $70 but I didn't and now they are just too expensive from what I've seen but if I come across an especially good deal or something special I might take interest. What is a reasonable price for a standard/nothing special/good condition SKS these days?

Thanks!

christ0pher

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Bear in mind I am no expert on SKSs but I can give you some limited info before a more knowledgeable person answers...

Recently there have been quite a few sino-Soviet SKSs showing up, most places letting them go for 275-315 shipped... I bought one from Atlantic firearms for 299... Most seem to be all matching from what I've read elsewhere... The metal is in decent/good shape and the stocks are nowhere near pretty... They just show moderate use, a little trench art, etc.. These would be what I would call nothing a special good condition SKS and that price seems to be the average now (from what I've seen with my limited experience)

I don't think they are by any means rare.. Rarer and more expensive would be a variant of a Yugo SKS, or another eastern bloc country..

As for matching numbers, if you are solely collecting I would say yes that increases the value/price of the gun...

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk

cjjtulsa

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score