Step-Daughter's first trip to the range

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RetiredTater

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
So took my step-daughter to the range yesterday while her mom is laid up. This was her first time shooting anything besides my 10/22. Took her mom's 9, my .380 and my .40.

She has a bit to learn, but she did a really good job and the best news........she is now a huge fan of the shooting sports! Funny thing is, she likes my .40 the best. Figured it would have been the 9, but she said the .40 is just easier due to the trigger and sights.

Since I am kind of new to instructing kids (my boys are kind of naturally into it because of their grandpa and intro whole in diapers), what is the best way to train a kid in the fundamentals without in turn turning them off to shooting?

I can teach privates PMI, is it the same just with soft touch? Do we do trigger pull drills to muscle failure, sight drills till cross eyed, and that kind of stuff?

Adjustment to civilian is not easy!!!!!!!!

druryj

In Remembrance / Dec 27 2021
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
So took my step-daughter to the range yesterday while her mom is laid up. This was her first time shooting anything besides my 10/22. Took her mom's 9, my .380 and my .40.

She has a bit to learn, but she did a really good job and the best news........she is now a huge fan of the shooting sports! Funny thing is, she likes my .40 the best. Figured it would have been the 9, but she said the .40 is just easier due to the trigger and sights.

Since I am kind of new to instructing kids (my boys are kind of naturally into it because of their grandpa and intro whole in diapers), what is the best way to train a kid in the fundamentals without in turn turning them off to shooting?