Thinking About A New Car - Suggestions

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mystery

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've been driving trucks for the past 20 years. As I've gotten older I find myself more and more wanting something a little quieter, smoother, more comfortable to drive. I currently have a 2014 Titan that I'm considering trading in. Much to my dismay I recently learned that because the Titan got a new body style this year, that the trade in value for my 2014 went down a bit, but that's another story.

I've been looking into SUV's and Crossover's, focusing on drive-ability and passenger comfort. I'm looking at the new Dodge Durango's (a co-worker purchased one earlier this year and I'll admit I'm impressed), also looking at the new Ford Explorers, and I test drove a new Cadillac XT5 this evening. I'd like to get your thoughts and opinions, good or bad, about any of the above, or other models. Things you've liked, and things you'd advise me to avoid.

Obviously price is always a concern, but I'd like to not go above 50K-55K.

Any thoughts, and thanks in advance for offering your opinion.

Thanks.

Dave70968

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
[Broken External Image]

Buy something several years old; let somebody else take the depreciation hit. Pay cash, and stick what would have been the monthly payment into savings or reasonably liquid investment (a money market account would be a good choice); if something breaks, you'll have the cash to fix it, but will have been earning interest instead of paying interest. Also, your insurance premium will be lower.