Why you should CCW every day

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spd67

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
let me pass along an experience I had. I am a Police Officer and I started to become complacent in carrying when I was off duty. I only had my Glock 31 that I carried in a Blackhawk Serpa hip holster when I was off duty and I started to leave it at the house when I would go out because it was just too darn big to carry all the time comfortably especially in the summertime. I did not have any other pistols that I could carry at the time and I did not carry a back up gun when I was on duty.

I was in a pharmacy and I was the only customer there. I was in the store for about 30 minutes and as I was leaving I held the door open for another "customer" as the were entering. I did not thing anything about it but when I got to work that night I learned that the pharmacy I was in earlier in the day had been robbed at gunpoint. I went back to the jail to take a look at the guy who had robbed the store (because we caught him later in the day) and would you believe it was the same guy I had held the door open to when I was leaving the pharmacy.

I was only seconds away from being in a gunfight with this guy and I did not even know it...and I did not have a gun on me at the time. I was not a very good sheep dog on this day and I am ashamed that I was so complacent in my carry habits. I now carry a Smith and Wesson 642 Deluxe Talo Edition in my pocket everyday all day even when I am at the house. Or I will carry my new Ruger LCP. I even now carry one of these two guns as a back up gun while on duty.