After High School

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What did you do after High School?

• 2 Year College

Votes: 17 8.6%
  • 4 Year College

Votes: 80 40.4%
  • Military

Votes: 51 25.8%
  • Workforce

Votes: 38 19.2%
  • Other

Votes: 12 6.1%

• Total voters

71buickfreak

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I went college after taking a semester off to, uh, "hang" with my still in highschool girlfriend...

5 years and 2 major changes later, I bailed and went to work in the car audio industry. Worked my way up the retail ranks to a design position at a major manufacturer, wrote some stuff for a trade magazine, got asked to write a story for muscle car mag for actual money. Within 2 years, I was so busy writing, I was neglecting my day job, so I quite and have been a fulltime journalist ever since. that was 2006. I am my own boss, and I do better than I did when I was a product designer.

BIG_MIKE2005

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Well I dropped out my junior year due to things going on at home & what not. Started working full time in fabrication shops as soon as I turned 18yrs old. Moved in with my grandmother shortly after since my mom lost our house & went on the road with my step dad who was a truck driver. Got a little side tracked doing drugs for a while but once my head cleared thankx to a good friend of mine I was back working in shops. Got laid off from those due to cutbacks & ended up in retail at Target & decided I wanted to pursue drafting since I had a natural gravitation to it. Met my wife while in school at Platt for Drafting/Design. Ended up dropping out during the major b/c she got prego & I needed to work alot more hours at work to provide for her & the baby. After the baby got here I was back in a shop working at Redman piping when I got a call asking me to interview for a drafting position. Got the drafting job & have been here 9yrs this year.