Lead cast 300 gr 45-70

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dozermonkey

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hey it's me again ! Hope every one had a great Christmas ! As y'all know I'm still alittle green to reloading so I have more questions. I have a new Henry 45-70 modern lever action. I acquired some 300 gr lead cast bullets and some Accurate 5744 powder. Is this powder combo a viable option ? I have the Hornady and Lyman books and not real satisfied with the choices or info I'm seeing. As a noob I'm still cautious about some loads. Any info and real world experience would be great ! Thanks for your patience!
Happy new year !

Ps , I've already loaded some Hornady ftx 325 grn with H4198 ,just haven't shot it yet. Was thinking about Varget next.

Blitzfike

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Here are some links to what you are looking for. I personally don't have any experience with AA5744 but it seems like it will do what you want. I load everything from 300 grain cast to 405 grain cast and most of the jacketed bullets available as well. I have a Marlin 45-70 lever, a couple of single shots as well. Hope this helps.. Links follow

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?185210-Accurate-5744-and-the-45-70-anybody-using-it
http://www.reloadammo.com/4570load.htm
http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/hand-l...-k-brass/need-some-loads-using-5744-for-4570/
http://www.marlinowners.com/forum/45-70-govt/43383-45-70-accurate-5744-a.html

RustyW

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score