Red dot rant

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Letfreedomring

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Is it just me or has anyone else noticed that red dot lens surrounds seem to be getting thicker and thicker. I get the whole run-n-gun thing that needs durability, but most of us aren't going to be deep in the doo-doo. I would rather have the thinnest (metal) frame for the best downrange sight picture available. My thinking is the mickey mouse ears would cover up quite a bit of the threat picture or am I over-thinking things?
images (46).jpeg

I'm still new to the red dot edc transition and only have a little experience with the holosun scs which is borderline on frame thickness. I just hope the trend reverses and doesn't go the way of the cell phone: big-little-tiny-huge. Lol.
Post up your opinion and your likes and dislikes on the current trend of carry red dots.

rockchalk06

ʞlɒʜƆʞɔoЯ
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Thinner has less durability. When the MRDS started gaining popularity, they were pumped out quickly we found most had zero durability. Just because you aren't going to be in the ****, doesn't mean someone else won't be and needs that durability. If I cant trust the optic to be racked of a hard object or dropped on a hard surface, I have no reason to have said optic. I could just as easily go back to irons and have 10 times the durability as most MRDS.

I don't pay attention to the frame of the optic. I pay attention to my target. The frame either disappears when the weapon is held correctly or becomes an afterthought while I am staying target focused as is the whole reason behind an MRDS.

Holosun makes the 508/509 which has a much more generous window. Even my 507C is giant compared to my standard RMR. If you are not concerned with durability, Sig Romeo 1 or the 2nd gen have yuge windows, clear glass with no tint and crisper dots (my eyes)

JEVapa