Who's reloading rifle on a Lee Turret?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Surveyor1653

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
What flavor of ammo are you reloading, and are there any specific issues to watch out for? I intend to dup' (as closely as possible) M80 Ball for the M1A/Scout Squad.

For the record: I've been reloading handgun on this press for about four years. I'm all new to rifle, though.

royesses

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm loading 308, 243,223 on a Lee classic turret press. Just keep it lubed properly and if you use the primer system make sure it is adjusted properly. Make sure all bolts are tight and align the turret with the ram as best you can. I also grind a flat on the shell holder where the retainer hits it, so the shell holder free floats and the flat keeps the shell holder aligned to the left of center for easy insertion of the cartridge. Works very well and I have had no problems. I use a redding bushing die and also turn case necks to .012" (Winchester brass). I use a Forster Ultra Micrometer seating die. I use a Sinclair/Wilson trimmer to keep case length to trimmed to specs. I use a Lyman flash hole uniformer and Lyman primer pocket uniformer. Also a Lyman Gen6 Powder Scale for weighing powder charges. I use a Lee rifle charging die to charge the case. Lyman case prep express to do most of the case prep chores.

Naturally there is no need for most of the prep I do, just that I enjoy the process. I don't know if any of it makes my ammo more accurate, my firearms shoot better than I do. I just know that my reloads are done as good as I can.

Pulp

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score