Why inaccurate all of the sudden?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oOVEGGIEOo

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
With my bow? I was just fine a week ago. Practiced every day at 40 yards. Was getting 4inch groups or so. Even robin hooded at that range. Then the serving on my peep site snapped. Now I am all over the place at 40 yards. Most of them are still within the kill zone. But it is bugging the fire out of me. Could be lack of sleep, paranoia of losing more arrows, or just plain shanking. Idk..anyone have any tips?

r00s7a

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hard to say man, I'm a novice at best, so the only advice I can give is to start at the beginning. I have been shooting daily for the past month and satisfied with everything, just dead on. Took a couple of days off and shot yesterday and I was just all over the freakin target. I felt like I was starting all over again. So I went through all the steps, watching my breathing, not gripping the bow tight, and following through, etc. By my third round I was right back on target. I had been gripping the bow too tight and twisting it a bit causing me to be off, but never realized it until I started going through everything step by step. Since your problem started post-mechanical failure, that might be part or all of the issue. But don't forget your basics either!

bigcountryok

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Yeah, had it fixed that day. No movement what soever.
If you were here I would offer to go shoot with you but this is all I can offer.

1) Make sure your peep is still aligned to your eye. Close your eyes draw your bow and come to anchor then open your eyes, the peep should be right there and you should not have to move your head or adjust. If not adjust your peep till it is this way. The servings on either side of the peep will slide up and down to allow this to happen.