1-4 vs 3-9 scope for 5.56 AR

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

callmecamo

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've decided to get a Trijicon Accupower scope for my AR. I'm just not sure about what power range to go with. I'm wanting to have the capability of making fairly precise 500 yd shots if need be but also be able to work fairly close. My eyes are good at the moment so I can see 500 yd easily. Having hunted with a 3-9 on every deer rifle that I've ever owned, I know the advantages and limitations of the range. I have zero experience with a 1-4x scope and how precise you can be at longer distances. Can anyone help me out here with your experiences?

henschman

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
No difference in precision... that is all in how steady you can hold the rifle and how accurate the rifle/ammo is. The magnification just helps you see the target better, and on a small target, to get a more precise sight picture with the crosshairs right in the middle of the target. 4x is plenty of magnification for identifying and accurately putting rounds on man sized targets at 500 yards. If your intended target size is smaller, i.e. shooting head-sized targets at 500 yards, 10 inch plates, or trying to put everything in a 6 inch bullseye, you will probably want more magnification. Like you said, you are familiar with what a 3-9x will do. A 1-4x will be a lot faster at CQB distances... basically like an unmagnified red dot sight. It comes down to where you want to place the emphasis... on the fast and close shooting, or the longer range/more precision end of the spectrum. Or you could have it all, and put a 3-9x scope and and an offset red dot on it, like I did on my 6.8 AR! Either way, Trijicon makes some real nice glass. You won't be disappointed there.

FOG

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score