1st hunt

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

streak

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Alright guys, I have decided that this week while I am on vacation I am going to do something that I have always wanted to do. I am going hog hunting. I was hoping some of yall could give me a few tips or advice. I have to tell you that the only hunt I have ever been on was shooting dove so I am a complete novice when It comes to all this. My plan was just to get to canton lake about 5:30 thursday morning and try to find a place to start walking. Will Jeans and a camo shirt suffice? or do I need to get all gussied up and look the part. Also, I was just gonna bring the AR and a 357....will that be okay too? I keep hounding my brother in laws to go but they are more than wishy washy on all this. I keep reading that I need to walk the river but to be honest it has been 10 years since I have even fished canton much less walked the hunting grounds.

Oh yeah and if any one wants to join me to show me a few things you are more than welcome to join

Thanks,

Terrell

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Haven't been up there lately. But if you don't find water/mud with these temps, you won't find hogs in daylight. Are you camping or just driving out for the day?

I will try and find my map and road numbers and scouting information with possible water sources and PM you information later this weekend. Its not information to share with others. Honestly if you are coming out for just the day, I wouldn't. If you are going to camp, at least you will get to camp. Finding hogs ostough this time of year. They move the last 30 minutes of daylight all night and first light of the day.

fishfurlife

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
The greatest thing about pig hunting is that they can hardly see anything. I bow hunt them very often in a pair of jeans or cargo pants and a dark T-shirt.