.54 Cal black powder sabots and bullets

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tschwarz

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I'm a black powder newb.

My uncle and I were going to go black powder hunting this season. He has experience, I do not. He bought me some .54 cal sabots that hold .45 cal hollow point (I think) bullets. The package is labeled Hornady. The barrel of the black powder rifle I bought about 10 years ago is clearly labeled .54 cal. I have never shot this gun.

The issue is that the sabot feels entirely too lose when you start it in the barrel. I did not try it, but I am nearly certain it would simply free fall through the barrel. I understand that they make larger caliber sabots that are meant to use smaller caliber bullets, but this sabot is noticeably smaller in diameter than the barrel.

So the first question is fairly simple, am I just missing something obvious here?

Does anyone know where one can pick up .54 cal sabots / bullets locally? I'm concerned I will not have enough time for them to be delivered if I order them online, but am willing to give that route a try as well if someone can suggest a good source.

Thanks,
Tom

Rod Snell

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
So the first question is fairly simple, am I just missing something obvious here?

90% of shooting a blackpowder muzzle loader is knowing how to load it, and you leave me with an uneasy feeling about your knowledge and experience level. If you were closer to Altus, we could take your rig to the range and sort it out. I don't shoot .54, but I have used Hornady sabots in other calibers. I prefer .45 with Power belts for Oklahoma's small-bodied deer among the "modern" designs (I've shot most deer with roundball in an old traditional Hawken).