Boat questions...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XD-9Guy

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting a small boat for fishing but I am completely new to boating. What sort of things should I keep an eye out for when examining boats, motors & trailers.
Can you tell if a boat will float without putting it in the water to test it?

What should I look at in a motor?

Is running a motor in a barrel an effective way to test it? Or do you have to run it out in open water?

Any & all input is appreciated.

HMFIC

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting a small boat for fishing but I am completely new to boating. What sort of things should I keep an eye out for when examining boats, motors & trailers.
Can you tell if a boat will float without putting it in the water to test it?

What should I look at in a motor?

Is running a motor in a barrel an effective way to test it? Or do you have to run it out in open water?

Any & all input is appreciated.

I can answer that question. Just fill up the boat with water from the garden hose and then see if any leaks out the bottom... problem solved.

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score