Different rim sizes

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Legopez

Marksman
Supporting Member
Supporter
Reaction score
Hello, my Grandsons girlfriend had three different tire sizes on her car, the front had two totally different tires sizes, I understand that that is not good, so I took her to get a new set of tires. The tires are 17", but when I looked at her spare it was 16". I would think it would be really not good, to put it on if she got a flat, but I really don't know what would happen, as I am not a car expert. I haven't been able to find anything online about anyone doing this. Just curious what issues this would cause.

Letfreedomring

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hello, my Grandsons girlfriend had three different tire sizes on her car, the front had two totally different tires sizes, I understand that that is not good, so I took her to get a new set of tires. The tires are 17", but when I looked at her spare it was 16". I would think it would be really not good, to put it on if she got a flat, but I really don't know what would happen, as I am not a car expert. I haven't been able to find anything online about anyone doing this. Just curious what issues this would cause.
It doesn't really come into play unless they install a big brake system or drop spindle or other non oem parts and equipment. As long as the smaller rim spare has a larger series sidewall ie. if spare was a 75 series tire and other flat tire was a 60 series. More than likely the od of both will be very close. To double check, tirerack.com and discount tire usually have a calculator on their website for upsizing and downsizing tires.

918evo

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score