Method for determining knife blade quality

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

criticalbass

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm not an expert on knife blades. I do own several knives of varying quality.

Some time ago I noticed that if one holds a sharp blade next to his ear and rubs a thumb across (not along!) the sharpened edge, it makes a sound.

In my experience, a raspy ring comes from high quality blades, and lower quality blades produce a sort of dull scraping sound.

I have tried this on quite a few blades. Doesn't seem to work unless the blade is pretty sharp, and may not work for everyone.

Since I have already admitted lots of ignorance regarding knife blades, has anyone else noticed this?

(I considered going into knifemaking years ago. Did some reading and visited several knifemakers. Also went to a few club meetings of knife makers. Came away with nothing but respect and admiration for the craft, and decided not to invest the time and money it would take to make high quality knives.)

BrandonM

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Blade thickness would make a ton of difference in the auditory tone produced. I don't think there is any validity to a sound test. To many variables.

criticalbass

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Blade thickness would make a ton of difference in the auditory tone produced. I don't think there is any validity to a sound test. To many variables.

You had me more than half convinced. I started digging for my Knives of Alaska set (thick as a hatchet), which I seem to have misplaced, but in the search came up with five filet knives ranging in quality from great to junk. All are near the same thickness (thin).