PTSD and ccl's question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akgriffin

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have wanted to get my ccl for protection when travelling with my family. I am a vet with service connected ptsd, do take medication for anxiety. I have 13yrs military time, was cleet certified for DOC at OSP, and armed security cleet certified, but under OK law, i am not able to get a ccl or to even buy a gun. The job i use to have i pissed alot of people off, my wife with her job, an apartment manager has pissed people off, been threatened, attacked and our property stolen or vandelized. Am i reading the reg's wrong about the mental health portion, or am i completly out of luck? If there are any and i mean any questions, i will honestly answer them. I have no record or no history of violence. I just really want to find some answers to my questions. thanks.

HiredHand

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I think you are alright on getting your CWL. Having an anxiety disorder bought on by traumatic events doesn't seem like reason enough to deny a weapons permit but I could be completely wrong. I also happen to know several vets with PTSD diagnosis that also have their CWL. I've never asked them what they wrote down on the application or what documentation they provided.

SMS

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
A subject near and dear to my heart: PTSD by itself is not a disqualifier (PTSD scares the sheeple because they don't understand it). The key to PTSD is the underlying symptoms and conditions and the individual's response to them. Some of those conditions/responses could preclude you.

The applicable section in the SDA lawbook is 1290.10: Mandatory Preclusions. "Adjudication" is one key word...meaning you have to have been found incompetent in accordance with mental health law.