Starter competition/ Deer Riffle

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmounce

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Looking to pick up a starter competition/ deer riffle. I have no experience with riffles. I only take about 2 or 3 hunting trips a year all guided. I would like your honest advice good bad or ugly on the 2 choices I will list. If you experts know of something better for the price please suggest it.

I always borrow a riffle from a friend but am tired of doing that. If I pick up a new riffle I will be practicing a lot.

I really would like to try to get into some friendly competitive riffle shooting if I can shoot good enough.

Choice number 1

1. Remington 700 Heavy Barreled Action, 26" barrel length
2. .308 (1:12"), .243 (1:9.125"), .22-250(1:14"), .223(1:12")
3. Bell & Carlson Light Tactical Medalist Synthetic Stock (Mk1), full aluminum bedding block, free floating barrel
4. Bell & Carlson Vertical Grip Tactical Stock (Mk2), full aluminum bedding block, free floating barrel (No charge option)
5. Legacy International 1 Piece Picatinny Rail (EGW) - 20 MOA
6. Burris XTR Tactical Rings
7. Bushnell Elite 3200 10x40mm Tactical Scope with mildot reticle
8. Harris Bipod, solid mount, 9-13" or Versa-pod 9-13"
9. Plano double rifle hard gun case
10. Everything assembled and rifle zeroed at 100 yards

Choice nuber 2

1. Howa 1500 Heavy Barreled Action, 24" barrel length
2. .308 (1:12"), .243 (1:10"), .22-250(1:14"), .223(1:12")
3. Bell & Carlson Tactical/Varmint Medalist Synthetic Stock (Mk1), full aluminum bedding block, free floating barrel
4. New B&C Vertical Grip Tactical Stock (Mk2), full aluminum bedding block, free floating barrel (No charge option)
5. Legacy International 1 Piece Picatinny Rail (EGW) - 20 MOA
6. Burris XTR Tactical Rings
7. Bushnell 3200 10x Tactical Scope with mildots
8. Harris Bipod, solid mount, 9-13" or Versa-pod 9-13"
9. Plastic double rifle hard gun case