Starting out loading shot shells

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

becker_atc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok so I have been loading rifle and pistol for roughly 10 years now. So with a free single stage shot shell press from the classifieds I decided to open a whole new can of worms.

What I got:
-Vintage mec 20g loader with a resizer (sizer coming via eBay)
- Lyman's current shot shell manual
-Scales balance and digital
-Press owners manual available online
-A very basic understanding of the process

What I need:
-Some hulls gotta shoot up a box of AAs I have around
-Shot I was thinking some #6 will suffice for most my use for now
-Primers
-Wads was thinking waa20 or the clay buster copy??? Seems be one most common in my book
-Powders was thinking about some long shot and or unique since could use in pistol also

Is there a place around okc that wads and shot be found reasonable? Gene seres murfs in Duncan h&h or??

Any tricks tips or suggestions for me or component recommendations?

What ranges you pattern loads at? I'm looking more for game loads than target loads.

Any thing I'm missing?

Sent via message in a bottle

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Gene Sears us the shotgun sports capital of Oklahoma. Most shot gunners will tell you that reloading basic trap, skeet and small game loads is not cost effective. If you reload steel or buckshot you will see some savings.

If you still choose to reload, clay buster wads are great generic AA. Hulls that work well. Winchester AA, Remington STS, Federal Gold Medal. (There are a few more.) I used 700x powder exclusively for 12 gauge trap loads.

It is no longer cost effective for me to reload trap loads. Every year Winchester does a rebate offer on Winchester AA and I stock up several cases at that time.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score