Ten Point Titan Tl-7 vs a newer affordable crossbow

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justin184

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
First off, I am new to crossbows and I don't really know what to compare besides size weight and fps. I also get that kinetic energy in ft/lbs is another way to judge power as far as I understand but that is about all I can compare at the moment.

I have the opportunity to trade for an older Ten Point Tl-7 that clocks in around 285 fps with a little over 400 gr bolt I believe.

Now what I was wondering was if I should consider getting this older xbow or just go ahead and get a newer faster model instead. I was looking at the Barnett Jackal and it seems to have comparable weight and size with a faster shot at 315 fps.

The Tl-7 used to be a pretty pricey bow in its day and I just wanted to know if anyone with more experience could enlighten me to the possible unseen benefits of the older Ten Point vs the new Jackal which has great reviews but is significantly cheaper now new than the Ten Point was in its day.

All the info I can get on the Tl-7 is pretty dated and it seems the crossbow field has evolved a lot since 2007-2010 era.

Thanks in advance for any wisdom shared on the matter. I just don't want to sell myself short if I have the opportunity for something special that I can't really appreciate with my limited knowledge.

ElkStalkR

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Buy any crossbow but a Barnett. Trust me, do yourself a favor. Any brand but a Barnett. The cheap Barnetts are by far the worst!!! Don't believe me, go to Bass Pro and ask the staff their what they think of Barnett and how many get returned on a weekly basis and you will have your answer instantly. Seriously go ask them. Some people love their Barnetts but I have far and away seen more problems with them than any other brand, in my experience.