Thinking 'bout gettin' a new Glock...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Glock 'em down

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Well we went to re-qualify on the pistol range this past Saturday. I had my good ol' handy, dandy 2nd gen Glock 22, and I did something that I've never done before...

I shot a 100!!! :woohoo1:

So. That's got me thinking :idea: that maybe I need to let go of the old and reach out for the new for my off duty/CCW weapon as well and make it a Glock too.

Currently, I usually carry a good ol' wheelgun off duty since my 2nd gen G22 is a department issue. If I had to use it in a situation other than work, I feel like I could suffer some big time problems using an "official" state owned weapon for "UN-official" business...such as off-duty use. I dunno. :ugh2:

Regardless, in order to keep such hypothetical situations to a minimum, I simply choose not to carry the dept. issue Glock off duty.

Therefore, since I did so well at the range with a Glock, I think I'll buy another for my off-duty/CCW weapon and sadly, turn loose of my good ol' sixgun that I usually carry. :cry3:

Right now, I'm currently kicking around the idea of either an A) used 3rd gen Glock 22...or B) a used 2nd gen Glock 23...or C) a BRAND NEW OD Green Glock 37.

All three guns are about the same price ($400) so that's not an issue. What is is the holster and ammo differences. I have plenty of .40 S&W ammo and G22 holsters, so the 3rd gen G22 sounds like the logical choice.

But...I really like the smaller size of the G23 and it being a 2nd gen model is a nice touch too. But I would hafta buy some G23 holster(s). Oh sure, I could use G22 holsters and just ignore the half inch of space at the bottom...I guess. :grumble: