Wanting to do a raised bed...maybe

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

becker_atc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
So I want some fresh veggies this year and really thinking raised bed. Looking for a little guidance.
-what's a good size? I live on an acre with big backyard
-depth?
-what combo of soil and stuff should I fill it with?
-put a layer of plastic under it?
-fertilizer?
-anything I missed?

Sent via message in a bottle

XD-9Guy

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Check out the earth boxes I was told about them by some experienced gardeners and I like the look of them a lot, especially being a gardening newb myself. I am going to try a couple for some tomatoes.

Norman681

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
I use boxes made out of 2x6's. 3 feet by 8 feet. That makes it much easier to weed. Turn your dirt over about a shovel deep. Then mix in a good amount of compost. It actually takes a few years to get you soil good. Then you should learn to rotate ur crops. Tomatoes grow good where peas were planted last year.

Live Free or Die

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Get some of the 8' landscape timbers that are cheap, drill some holes in them to put rebar through them into the ground. Put some of the landscape cloth on the ground, folding the edges over the top of the landscape timbers to keep the weeds out, fill with good dirt/peat moss/fertilizer, and plant.

okherp

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
The depth really depends on what you want to plant. Lettuces and salad greens only require a few inches for rooting, same for beans and peas. Tomatoes and peppers, I'd say about a foot. And potatoes I'd go at least 3 feet. You can add depth for potatoes by using a feed tub with the bottom cut out places over the potatoes, and piling more soil on them as they continue to grow until you reach the top of the potato bin.

becker_atc

Sharpshooter