Which gas piston system for an AR

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MCVetSteve

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm looking for suggestions on which gas piston system to use on my AR. Currently it's a mostly stock armalite m-15 with a carbine length gas system. I pretty much have it narrowed to the Adams Arms and Osprey Defense kits but I just don't know which to choose. Any help from experience would be amazing.

MCVetSteve

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Reliability and ease of use/cleaning. I have LOTS of experience with ARs, having spent ten years active duty in the Marine Corps, and as a result I'm tired of cleaning the DI system. I understand that, insofar as use is concerned, there is no real difference between piston and DI. But I think eventually I'll be getting a suppressor.

uncle money bags

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I can see the advantage for suppressor use.DI gets dirty quick while suppressed, but not so bad that 20 minutes with a brush and rag wont take care of it. The real advantage imo is you dont have to run the piston system as wet. Its a small advantage though. You should already know as long as you keep the important bits wet, youll be fine.

Having said all of that, I think you have narrowed your choices down to the two least desirable systems. Mainly because they are both retrofit designs. If I were to move to a dedicated piston upper I would select one of the proprietary systems which were designed fro the ground up as a piston gun.

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Reliability and ease of use/cleaning. I have LOTS of experience with ARs, having spent ten years active duty in the Marine Corps, and as a result I'm tired of cleaning the DI system. I understand that, insofar as use is concerned, there is no real difference between piston and DI. But I think eventually I'll be getting a suppressor.