Need some advice guys..

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J-leblanc

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
So im pretty new to the world of firearms. (have shot guns my whole life but motly rifles, never been real serious about it.) Im really interested into doing a few competitions but dont really know how to started.. whats the best route?

No.343

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
First thing you should do is find out what discipline interests you the most. Go watch some competitions and meet the people in charge. They will ask you about the equipment you already own and tell you what is suitable to get started. Don't go and buy a bunch of equipment until you have several competitions under your belt. The first few are only good for figuring out how to practice. After people see that you are serious a mentor will appear. Look for a peer of a similar skill level to compete against. It will make it a lot more fun. Practice, practice and practice, but don't forget that these games are supposed to be fun too. After you get better take a kid shooting with you.

jtischauser

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Jump on OKC gun clubs website. They shoot everything from high power, silhoutte, action pistol, cowboy action, bullseye, 3 gun matches.

I too have always loved to shoot but you can only shoot at beet cans for so long until it becomes boring. Then I found action pistol and 3 gun. Now I have reasons to go out and practice and a great measuring stick to show me how good or bad I am and how I'm getting to be a much better shooter. I have also become more confident in my abilities to defend myself and my home should the need ever arise because I am that much more familiar with my weapons and my ability to use them.