Recommendations for 44 Magnum revolvers.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdagreek

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am a photographer who does lots of backpacking in the boonies like the SW corner of Yellowstone NP. This past Summer several people were attacked by Grizzlies and that got my attention, big time.

My thinking is to move up from a S&W 357 Magnum to a 44 Magnum just for safety sake. Weight is an issue as I don't want to carry anymore weight than necessary. Length is also an issue and for sure nothing longer than a 4" barrel.

I have never been in a position where I had to use a gun, but if and when I do I want to make sure I have something that will give me the best chance.

Would appreciate any thoughts any of you might have for a purchase of a 44 Magnum.

jej

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am a photographer who does lots of backpacking in the boonies like the SW corner of Yellowstone NP. This past Summer several people were attacked by Grizzlies and that got my attention, big time.

My thinking is to move up from a S&W 357 Magnum to a 44 Magnum just for safety sake. Weight is an issue as I don't want to carry anymore weight than necessary. Length is also an issue and for sure nothing longer than a 4" barrel.

I have never been in a position where I had to use a gun, but if and when I do I want to make sure I have something that will give me the best chance.

Would appreciate any thoughts any of you might have for a purchase of a 44 Magnum.

This sort of depends on your style of backpacking. If another pound does not matter to you, sure, get a 4" Smith 629 or, better, a snubby Ruger Alaskan. Personally, I am not interested in super light alloy handguns with hot loads.