Reloading Berdan primed .308

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Repubiman

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Ok as I'm fairly new to reloading, and still doing a lot of reading and researching, I need to ask a couple questions
regarding reloading of .308 ammo. I haven't reloaded any rifle ammo yet but plan on reloading .308 for a M1A, 5.56 for AR and .243 for my bolt rifle. I have reloaded a lot of pistol ammo and it's been great but still researching and such
before I take the plunge into rifle ammo.

I have over a 1000 rds. of South African .308 ammo that I shoot in my M1A. When I got into reloading I thought
well cool. I can save all my SA .308 and reload it. Well now I just read that since the case is Berdan primed, it's
best to just scrap the .308 berdan primed cases and find boxer primed only.

As I stated I am new to reloading and thought once it was fired, I could just remove the berdan primer and retrofit
with boxer primer and be good to go. As I understand it, that is not something I can do, due to the 2 flash holes in
the case for berdan primed brass. Is this correct?

Really a bummer because I hardly have any .308 brass now that most of it is berdan primed. I even went and bought
a special depriming tool for depriming military ammo. Is that useless now too? It's a Dillion Super Swage 600. Or,
can I still use the Super Swage to deprime all military cases that are crimped primers? Will 5.56 x 45 military brass
have crimped in primers or not?

So as I see it, I can shoot the .308 SA and enjoy that I bought it back when .308 was still cheap. I bought my first 980 rd. case of the SA .308 for $228 which is around .23 cent per round. lol.... then just sell the cases for scrap or is there other things I might be able to do with it like tring to find berdan primers if they still sell them.

Thanks for any light you can shed on this.

Calamity Jake

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter