S & W 629 PC vcomp

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sampson

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm considering buying this model from the performance center from S&W. Does anyone have any experience with this gun and is it worth the extra money to purchase it over a standard model with a four inch barrel. I want the four or five inch barrel as I taking it on a trip to Alaska. I'm considering a chest harness type holster as I'll be carrying it while fishing and such. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

fatcpa

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I have no experience with the compensated 629, but I do have the standard 4" version and have nothing but good things to say about it. I did smooth up the trigger a little and put a set of grips off of the S&W 500 revolver on it, but nothing else. I can comment on the holster though. I bought a Guide's Choice holster from Diamond D and would recommend it highly. Putting it nicely, I have a big midsection (really big) and have problems with most methods of carry. The Guide's Choice puts the gun right in the middle of your chest and keeps it tight against your body no matter what position your in. Diamond D's home is in Alaska, so I guess they know their business. The holster is a little pricey, but very well made. Check out their web site.

Brandi

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score