savage or remington 308

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Greetings all. I'm sure this has been covered but I'm kinda new to OSA.
I just ran across a new remington 700 VTR chambered in 308 for $509 at a local sportsman world. My buddy says its a great rifle. Seems like a good price but I'm not ready to buy at the moment.
However this made me think more about my first pick for a tactical rifle which is a Savage 10FP chamber 308. I have done a fair amount of research on the savage and I am convinced they are the best for $630.
So both are in a similar price category and I would like to get into a decent set up for under a $1000.
Any good input would be appreciated

okkaps

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I've had a 700P but not a Savage..... If I were buying again, I would lean towards the Savage if I wasn't building the gun up all custom like :) You get alot for your money with the Savage and at $589 (budsgunshop.com), it's a great deal. Take the extra money and buy a nice scope and base and ur set. If you are looking to buy and build a nice custom gun there are alot more parts for a 700 out there (it seems). You'll be happy either way but the Savage seems to be set up nicely for the price.

Furious_George

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Bought a Savage model 10FP in 308 with the detachable box mag, long bull barrel, and choate tactical stock (not the weird "ultimate sniper" stock) about a year ago from cabelas. It's probably the most accurate out of the box rifle I own. Could shoot it all day long and not come close to shooting larger than an inch group. If you're going to use it as a bench gun, I recommend adjusting the accu-trigger to its lightest setting prior to taking it to the range. It really is a heck of a nice factory trigger. What do you plan on using it for? If it's a hunting rifle, you're probably better off with something a little less front heavy.