Scope Help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theishkid

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have this older '80's model Marlin Glennfield 25 .22lr. I asked for a scope for my birthday. So just my luck I end up getting two scopes. I don't know which one to keep. I'm new to rifles and very new to scopes so please help me out.

I received the Nikon Prostaff 4x32 Rimfire model, the one I asked for... As well as the Nikon Prostaff 3-9x50. I had asked for the 4x32 since this is going on a .22. But a family member got me the 3-9x50 because it was on sale for $135, usually $170 and thought it would be a lot nicer scope for the money.

So in trying to find some rings for this thing today and explaining my situation to the fine folks at H&H and Outdoor America they both had the same opinion that the 3-9x50 is going to be overkill and that I should just put the 4x32 on and send the other one back. So that's my first question. Is the 3-9x50 overkill? Should I just mount the 4x32 and be done with it? I was told the 4x32 is pretty much matched to a .22 at around 50 yards while the 3-9x50 is matched to around 150 yards and I would have to do some compensating.