Suppressed .22 project

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HerkyBird

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Looking for advice. I'm fairly certain I am going to use a Marlin BA for the project. What issues have any of you run into? (other than months waiting on the stamp). I'm new to world of suppressed firearms, so any advice on weapon choice, suppressors, ammo, etc would be greatly appreciated. Pictures are always nice, too.

Glocktogo

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Nothing wrong with your choice of platform if you already have one. Any bolt action is going to be a quiet platform for a can. If you haven't selected the rifle yet, you might want to check out the Savage Mark II FV-SR (Sku 28702). It comes with a great trigger, a one piece scope base and a fluted pre-threaded barrel that's ready to screw a can onto.

http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/

As for cans, buy once, cry once. You're wed to it via the $200 tax stamp and used suppressors have a significantly lower value than new ones. There are three cans that seem to stand out above the rest. The Silencerco Sparrow, SWR Spectre and AAC Element. I'll admit I'm biased towards the Stainless Steel Sparrow (they make a lighter aluminum version as well). It has more first round pop (FRP) than the SWR or AAC, but it's ease of disassembly for maintenance is superior. I mitigate the FRP in the Sparrow by hitting it with a couple of sprays from a nasal inhaler filled with water and it's very quiet. Silencerco and SWR (which is now owned by Silencerco) are generally considered to have better customer service than AAC. I have three AAC cans and they're excellent, but I went with the Sparrow for my most recent one and couldn't be happier.

There are a couple of forums you should visit before buying one. That will give you a lot of information you can use to make an informed purchase. Good luck!