Tikka T3 Lite .270

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lightningkylej

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
Got to take out my new Tikka T3 lite this evening about 4:30. Wife got it for me a couple weeks ago for an early Christmas present.
Since I am a lefty, my .270 is the synthetic stock with a stainless barrel. I have a Nikon Buckmaster 3-9x40 scope on the supplied rings along with a Caldwell 6-9" bipod and sling.
First thing I noticed is the smoothness of the action. Butter, pure hot butter. Trigger is a real pleasure to pull as I didn't even feel the break as it fired. Just a little pressure and then... bang! Factory supplied rings look cheap and probably will need to be changed but so far they are doing their job.
My buddy was at our normal "shooting range", that is setup for 50-150 yard shooting, to do a little antlerless hunting. So I went over to our second lease and did a make shift site-in for the Tikka. I pulled the bolt and bore sighted it in a 25 yards. Pulled the trigger and made a few adjustments before moving it out to 50 yards (as far as I could shoot due to the tall grass and short box that I was using as a target). Took a couple more shots and a few more adjustments before settling on a nice 6 shot overlapping pattern about 1" low of center.
Recoil was a little more noticeable than my bull barrelled .270 but this was expected in such a light rifle. A limbsaver will change out the slightly stiff recoil pad on the Tikka.

Now for the fun...
Not really wanting to call it a night (about 5:00), I decide to go about 300 yards away from my target practice to sit on a feeder that has been getting a lot of attention lately, while I was waiting for my buddy to get a deer.