Vernier Calipers

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cigman1st

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I recently bought a little Seecamp pocket gun. Everything I have read said the gun can be picky about what it likes. Many posted a maximum length of the cartridge. I have never used calipers before, not much call for them in my profession, but thought it might be fun to learn. For those that use them, how tough is it to read the correct measurement with VERNIER CALIPERS? Would it be better to get a digital or straight vernier?

Thank you

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Digitals are much easier and you can zero on a known dimension and use them to check plus or minus from that known setting which is handy sometimes. But a good set of vernier calipers are probably more accurate if you use them enough for a consistent feel, and don't mind the vernier scale and doing the math. Key term there was "good set", a cheap set of verniers is no better than a cheap set of digitals or dials.

gaseous maximus

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Digitals, For what you need them for, harbor tool's 6 inch (10.00 on sale) are plenty accurate, especially for outside measurements (OD). One neat feature is the ability to convert decimal to metric at the push of a button. Speaking from 40+ years expereince, I'd rather have a cheap digital than a expensive vernier or dial caliper, at least in the smaller sizes. As a matter of fact when I checked about a year ago,used starret 6" dial calipers were bring about $25.00 on Ebay, they were over $100 new back in the mid 80's.

dammechanic

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score