Are low oil prices helping or hurting you?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reade

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I make my living providing service to the local producers so low oil has just about cut my business in half (or more). It's common to say when gas is $1.50 a gallon but you don't have the $1.50 to buy it with......

How are you guy's making it, better or worse?

tntrex

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Better for me as well.
Fuel, feed, fertilizer are all easier to swallow. They were getting waaay out of hand price wise.

But Input costs have not gone down for me at the rate oil fell. Or the rate corn fell. Yet as oil was going up my feed price sure as hell shot up. So did fertilizer.

SlugSlinger

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
There are 2 ways to analyze and answer your question.

Short term things are fine with lower gas prices. However, gasoline fuel is such a small portion of my overall budget the change is essentially immaterial.

However, working for a midstream company, I believe the lower prices have cost me a promotion, I did get compensated in other ways, but long term, a promotion would be better. Also, an email was distributed Friday telling some legacy employees they will be receiving a letter that will tell them about their future with the company and what options they may have.

I also heard Friday, that there will likely be another 20,000 layoffs in Oklahoma in the energy industry primarily due to the continuing low oil prices. I don't think we've seen the worst of these low oil prices impact on the state (or individual's) finances yet.

Shadowrider

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score