Can a VPO require disarmament?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mons meg

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Short version: An acquaintance of mine is going through some drama with his now-ex over child custody. She filed a VPO against him making various claims that he was dangerous. The judge apparently put in the VPO that he had to turn in his firearms. :bigeye: I'm not a lawyer, but this seems a HUGE due process violation. I will also say that while I don't know the facts, the statements she made while applying for the VPO don't match her 911 call, and other problems with her story. Also, there are many other reasons to doubt her credibility on this issue which I won't go into here.

Shortly after their lawyers met to discuss the court date, the ex agreed to drop the VPO (the day before court). So, now he has his guns back after he had to turn them in to the local PD. I'm assuming his lawyer advised him it would be better to play along than make a big fuss about his pistols.

My big question here is, how is a VPO like that even remotely legal? I know federal and many state's laws prohibit PURCHASING while under a VPO or other domestic order, but to have to give up your firearms pending some sort of resolution in the courts is ludicrous to me. Has anyone else out there heard of stuff like this happening?

SMS

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I believe the judge's order is backed up by federal law. It's colored in the shade of commerce...but I guess it applies somehow since the simple act of possessing something can be ruled to affect commerce. A key part in it is that the subject of the VPO has to have had the opportunity to participate in the hearing...

18 USC 922 G 8.

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person -
(8) who is subject to a court order that -
(A) was issued after a hearing of which such person received