Does the term COMPETITION or MATCH scare you out of playing?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtischauser

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I think that the term competition or even match scares a lot of would be shooters from joining us at the fun organized shootings events. So from this day forward I am going to call everything an organized shooting event rather than a match or a competition.

What do you think?

lcunningham

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
When I think of an organized shooting event I think of standing around shooting whatever. Competition makes me think exactly what it is and I try to better myself with each match I go to. I'm new to the game have only been to three matches, my 4th this weekend in Ponca then Old Fort following that. I just look at it in the mindset that I am not going to be as good as phil, mike, or even you Jesse at this point, maybe someday. My goal is to just do better than my last event. I do not think that changing the name will help. People just need to not be afraid to come out and give it a shot.

jtischauser

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
When I think of an organized shooting event I think of standing around shooting whatever. Competition makes me think exactly what it is and I try to better myself with each match I go to. I'm new to the game have only been to three matches, my 4th this weekend in Ponca then Old Fort following that. I just look at it in the mindset that I am not going to be as good as phil, mike, or even you Jesse at this point, maybe someday. My goal is to just do better than my last event. I do not think that changing the name will help. People just need to not be afraid to come out and give it a shot.

Well said.

redneck1861

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score