How to hunt Public Land in OK

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garret01

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Here is the deal. I went on my first hunt with my brothers in Bandera, TX last year and caught the Buck Fever. I don't want to get to hunt only once a year so I am looking for figure out how to hunt public land in Oklahoma this season. Any guidance you guys can provide would be great. I'll start with some questions...

1.) How does the public land hunt work; do I have to register at a WMA or do I just show up and treck out into the woods to setup?

2.) Are the WMA's split up into grids that are assigned to each hunter?

3.) Can I hunt the same spot over multiple days?

4.) If I'm not an expert at field dressing my deer, can I take the whole darn thing to a processor and let them do it?

5.) I live in Tulsa County, any references on a good WMA to hunt for deer?

6.) I'm 28, what do I need to get license wise to hunt in Oklahoma as a resident?

Thanks,
Garret01

orangeRcode

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score