Senate Committee Advances Bill Clarifying Open Carry Rifle Handling

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lhecker51

Marksman
Special Hen
Reaction score
I fully agree that one should be ready both physically and psychologically to confront an active threat to ones own or family member safety but your comment sounds an awful lot to me like you are just hoping and waiting for that chance to open fire on someone in a public venue. As a Vietnam Veteran I can assure you that there is no 'thrill' in shooting anyone, nor glory in taking a life. Best to find another way to get your '15 minutes o fame'.
That is not my intent. I should have prefaced my comment with the situation. Regarding police patrolling at a huge event with AR's slung on their chest, I was comparing their mode of carry for their specific mission and that of a citizen during a threat situation that warrants it, such as the threat of riots and looters. I think it's absolute idiocy to bring attention to one's self when it's not needed. I too am a combat vet and I should have been more clear regarding all actions being driven by the situation and risk of threat. When the situation is dire, such as during a riot or threats of looting and destruction, police would fully expect folks will take rational action to defend themselves and property. We have all seen those that are all tacticool with no place to go. I believe in the gray man concept and always practiced that philosophy. For me, guns are critical tools. Just because one has the right to carry an AR, it makes no sense to alarm the general public if the threat is just not there. I personally disagree with the supposed "Constitution Auditors" That go out carrying their AR in a public area with the purpose of supposedly auditing police response and video taping it. They have the right to do it, but they are unduly alarming the public with their uncalled for antics.